Concealed Weapon Permits
All Concealed Weapon Permit application processing, renewals, and issuing of permits will be conducted every Wednesday from 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM. No appointment is necessary, first come--first serve.
All Concealed Weapons Permit application processing, renewals, and issuing of permits will be conducted on Wednesdays from 8:00 AM to noon and noon to 3:00 PM. No appointment is necessary, first come--first serve. Subject to change without notice. Calling ahead is recommended.
NEW APPLICATIONS: Use the Application Form for new applications, renewals from other counties/states, or if your permit has been expired for more than 30 days. To get a CWP, you must have been a MT resident for 6 months and have a current Teton County address.
You will need to provide
- A photocopy of your MT Driver's License.
- If your Driver's License shows an out-of-county address, you will need to provide proof of residency in Teton County, such as a copy of the mortgage on the address, power bill, rental agreement, etc.
- A photocopy of your certification - Gun safety class, DD214, or Hunter Safety certificate.
- Payment of cash or check for $50.
RENEWALS: Use the Renewal Form if you are a current Teton County permit holder. Your renewal period runs 60 days prior to expiration to 30 days after.
You will need to provide:
- A photocopy of your MT Driver's License.
- A photocopy of your current/recently expired permit showing both sides.
- Payment of cash or check for $25.
If you plan to apply for a Concealed Weapon Permit, please take a moment to read the information below:
WHAT IS THE CURRENT LAW REGARDING THE CARRYING OF A CONCEALED FIREARM?
M.C.A. Section 45-8-315 and the following sections cover laws related to concealed weapons. Most citizens find that their specific needs for protection in the home, business, or while traveling fall within the current law without needing a permit.
CAN I CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON WHILE WEARING A MASK?
There are no Montana State Statutes prohibiting the wearing of masks or face coverings while carrying a concealed weapon with a valid Montana Concealed Weapons Permit.
An exception to the Governor's July 2020 mask directive is for "persons temporarily removing their face covering for identification purposes." When requested, we appreciate your cooperation in removing your face covering for identification.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO APPLY FOR A CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT?
Anyone who wishes to carry a concealed pistol, revolver, or any other firearm capable of being concealed upon a person within the city limits of any incorporated town is eligible to apply, subject to the criteria below.
WHO CAN ISSUE A CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT?
Pursuant to the authority granted in M.C.A. Section 45-8-321, the sheriff of a county may issue written permits for carrying concealed weapons. Permits must be obtained in the county of permanent residence.
IF A PERMIT IS GRANTED IN TETON COUNTY, IS IT HONORED ELSEWHERE?
It is honored everywhere in Montana. For out-of-state validity, you must contact the Attorney General of the states in which you plan to travel to see if they will honor Montana Permits.
WHAT ARE THE CRITERIA FOR APPLYING FOR A CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT?
- Resident in Montana for six months
- 18 years of age
- Written documentation of firearms training - DD214. Hunter's Safety Course or Handgun Safety Course. This is an acceptable online course - https://www.concealedcarry-ed.com/montana/
- No criminal record
- Possess a Montana Driver's License or State ID
MCA 45-8-321 covers the permitting process.
WHAT IS THE COST AND HOW LONG IS THE PERMIT VALID?
- Initial cost is $50, nonrefundable. Renewal cost is $25, nonrefundable.
- CASH OR CHECK ONLY. Make checks payable to TCSO or Teton County Sheriff's Office.
- Valid for four years, but it can be revoked at any time. (MCA 45-8-323)
- You are responsible for costs of the handgun safety course.
MCA 45-8-322 covers the application, renewal, permit, and fees.
WHO DOESN'T NEED A CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT?
- Any peace officer in the State of Montana
- Any officer of the U.S. Government-authorized to carry a concealed weapon
- A person in actual service as a National Guardsman
- A person summoned to the aid of any of the persons named in subsection 1-3
- A civil officer or his deputy engaged in the discharge of official business
- A probation or parole officer authorized to carry a firearm
- A person issued a permit
- An agent of the Department of Justice or a criminal investigator in the County Attorney's Office
- A person who is outside the official boundaries of a city or town or the confines of a logging, lumbering, mining or railroad camp or who is lawfully engaged in hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, or other activity in which weapons are often carried for recreation or protection
- A person carrying arms on one's own premises or at one's home or place of business
Concealed Weapon Application 2020.docx